From Plastic Packaging Waste to Resource

Packaging contributes to more than half of the total plastic waste generated globally. The recovery of plastic packaging remains low in most parts of the world, mainly due to its inherently low residual value, complexities of the packaging materials and contamination in plastic waste stream.

Jointly organised by IPI and Helsinki Business Hub, the Emerging Technology Forum on Plastic Recycling will discuss these challenges and key demand drivers from the regulatory, market and technology perspectives. It will also highlight business opportunities across the plastic value chain and introduce emerging technologies for adoption from Singapore and Finland.


Emerging Technology Forum on Plastic Recycling
15 April 2021
2.00 pm - 3.30 pm (GMT +8) / 9.00 am - 10.30 am (GMT +3)

  • Gain insights on the plastic recycling market and technology trends
  • Learn about Finnish know-how, experience and technologies in plastic waste management
  • Connect with industry players to explore collaboration opportunities in Singapore and Finland
Time Programme

2.00 pm – 2.05 pm (GMT +8) / 
9.00 am – 9.05 am (GMT +3)

Introduction to IPI

2.05 pm – 2.35 pm (GMT +8) / 
9.00 am – 9.35 am (GMT +3)

Market and Technologies on Plastic Recycling
Steven Lee, Innovation Manager, IPI

2.35 pm – 2.45 pm (GMT +8) / 
9.35 am – 9.45 am (GMT +3)

Introduction to Helsinki Business Hub and Circular Economy Ecosystem in Finland
Irma Ylikangas, Senior Business Advisor, Helsinki Business Hub

2.45 pm – 3.00 pm (GMT +8) / 
9.45 am – 10.00 am (GMT +3)

Circular Economy Solutions
Tuulamari Helaja, Vice President, VTT

3.00 pm – 3.25 pm (GMT +8) / 
10.00 am – 10.25 am (GMT +3)

Presentations by Technology Providers
3.25 pm – 3.30 pm (GMT +8) / 
10.25 am – 10.30 am (GMT +3)
Q&A

 

Business Matching Session
28 April 2021
2.00 pm - 3.30 pm (GMT +8) / 9.00 am - 10.30 am (GMT +3)

  • Discover opportunities for bilateral co-operation between Finland and Singapore in plastic waste management


Featured Speakers


Steven Lee
Innovation Manager
Manufacturing, Infocomm
and Built Environment

Steven focuses on engaging various stakeholders such as industry, local innovation and enterprise offices, government agencies and trade organisations to catalyse the adoption of technologies. He also works closely with business leaders of local enterprises to address their technology challenges by identifying suitable solutions, intellectual property (IP) and experts through IPI’s global innovation network.

Prior to IPI, Steven was the Assistant Manager in R&D division of Sembcorp Marine Integrated Yard Pte Ltd.  He worked on new products development and facilitates joint industry collaborations in areas of gas and clean technology for seagoing vessels. 

Steven graduated with a Bachelor of Chemical Engineering from University of Technology Malaysia (UTM).

*****


Irma Ylikangas
Senior Business Advisor
Helsinki Business Hub

Irma has over 20 years of international B2B business experience in all continents. She has been creating international, new business platforms to enable business growth to and from Helsinki Region, Finland. In her work, Irma cooperates and networks with large enterprises, government organizations and investors globally.

The geographical focus of Irma's work is to the U.S., Singapore, Germany and China, and the industry focus is mainly in smart and clean technologies including IAQ, new materials, circular economy, energy efficient and digitalization solutions in smart city/building applications.

*****


Tuulamari Helaja
Vice President
VTT
 

Tuulamari Helaja graduated with a Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of Helsinki in 2000. Following a post-doctoral fellowship at the University of Münster in 2000-2001, she joined Borealis Polymers to work on olefin polymerisation catalyst technologies.

In 2006, Tuulamari obtained an eMBA from Aalto University and joined VTT, where she has held various positions. Since 2016, she has been the Vice President for the Energy and Chemistry research area covering thermochemical conversions and chemical process technologies including scale-up, industrial synthesis and catalysis, polymer and plastic processing, metals and materials recovery, and computational chemistry including process concepts and models.